You can always unassign or delete any shifts on the system. The unpublished shifts can be removed without having to leave a reason, however, for the published and confirmed shifts you can set it up so it would be required to leave a reason when unassigning or deleting the shifts.

This can be done by going to the System Settings > Scheduling Settings > Shift Cancellation Settings and switching the setting ‘Explanation required on shift cancellation’ ON. This means that when an admin is unassigning or deleting a shift they will be required to select a cancellation reason. There are some default cancellation reasons on the system already, but you can also add new reasons suitable for your company.

Unassigning and deleting on Schedule page

To unassign a shift:

1. Right-click on the shift for action menu and choose ‘Unassign’ OR simply drag and drop the shift back to the open shifts area.


2. If you’re required to leave a reason for unassigning, select the relevant reason.

3. You can also replace the shift with either an unavailability or an absence if needed.

4. Once you have unassigned a shift, it will be released from the employee and move back to the top of the schedule as an open shift which can then be assigned to another employee.

 

To delete a shift:

1. To delete any shift simply right click on it and choose 'Delete' from the options.

2. If you’re required to leave a reason for deleting, select the relevant reason.

3. You can also replace the shift with either an unavailability or an absence if needed.

3. Click on ‘Delete permanently’ to remove the shift from the system.

 

To delete multiple shifts:

1. Find the ‘Tools’ section on the top right-hand corner and switch the ‘Select mode’ ON. This mode allows you to select multiple shifts and perform different actions with them, one of which is deleting them.

2. When the Select Mode is ON the shifts become selectable. You can select the shifts either by ticking them individually OR you can select the area by left-clicking on the calendar and dragging the mouse to cover the area of shifts you wish to select.

3. Once you have ticked the relevant shifts click on the ‘Shifts’ on the blue bar to open the actions menu and choose ‘Delete shifts’.

4. If you’re required to leave a reason for deleting, select the relevant reason.

5. You can also replace the shifts with either an unavailability or an absence if needed.

6. Click on ‘Delete permanently’ to remove the shifts from the system.

Cancel and delete on Shifts List

To cancel multiple shifts on the Shifts list firstly use the filters on the left-hand side to find the shifts that you wish to cancel. Next, tick the shifts and click on 'With selected' to open all the possible actions for these shifts. Choose 'Unassign' (for the published and assigned shifts you will need to enter a cancellation reason before you can cancel them).



To delete multiple shifts you will need to follow the same steps as above. For the Open, Unpublished and Waiting shifts it will give the option to 'Delete' immediately under the 'With Selected' button, whereas for the Published and Assigned shits you would need to choose 'Unassign' first and then tick the 'Delete shift' option in the dialogue box.

Back to the Schedule menu

Did this answer your question?